Guide · Pricing
OpusClip credits explained: what one podcast episode really costs on every AI clip tool
OpusClip credits, Vizard credits and Quso credits all mean the same thing: one credit is one minute of the episode you upload. So the number that matters is not the monthly price. It is what one episode costs, and how many episodes fit before the plan runs out.
Opus Clip credits explained, in one line: one credit is one minute of source video, on OpusClip, Vizard and Quso alike. A 60-minute episode costs 60 credits at upload, whether you keep one clip or thirty.
A 60-minute episode costs about $3 to $6 on each tool's best-value monthly plan, and up to $17 on the wrong entry plan. On OpusClip's $15 Starter plan it is $6.00 and the plan covers two and a half episodes a month. See the ClipPod pricing page for our side. ClipPod meters differently: one monthly bar, and you see what each step uses before you confirm. A 60-minute episode with ten videos made is $1.03 on ClipPod Starter at $9 and $0.97 on ClipPod Creator at $29.
Expiry decides the real bill on OpusClip; the monthly refill decides it on ClipPod. OpusClip's monthly credits expire after 60 days. ClipPod's plan refills to 100% at each renewal instead — the unused share is not carried forward — and anything that fails on our side gives back what it used unless the plan refills or ends meanwhile.
AI clipping tool pricing comparison
On monthly billing, a 60-minute episode costs $0.97 on ClipPod Creator (ten videos made), the cheapest of the tools compared here. Vizard's Creator plan is $2.90 and Quso Growth is $4.90. The most expensive way to clip one episode is Quso's $29 Lite plan at $17.40, because 100 credits cover under two hours a month.
The table shows two plans per tool: the one you can start on, and the one with the most minutes per dollar. The per-episode figure assumes you use the whole allowance. ClipPod's episode is a one-hour import in English and ten one-minute videos made and finished, taken as its share of the month's bar.
| Tool | Entry plan | Per minute | Best-value plan | Per minute | Per 60-min episode, best value | Unused credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ClipPod | Starter $9 / ≈ 90 clips a month | n/a | Creator $29 / ≈ 300 clips a month | n/a | $0.97 (ten videos made) | Prices exclude tax; the plan refills each renewal and unused share doesn't carry over; a $9 pack never expires |
| Vizard | Creator $29 / 600 | 4.8¢ | Creator $29 / 600 | 4.8¢ | $2.90 | Each month's minutes last two months |
| OpusClip | Starter $15 / 150 | 10.0¢ | Pro $29 / 300 | 9.7¢ | $5.80 | Expire after 60 days on monthly plans |
| Quso.ai | Lite $29 / 100 | 29.0¢ | Growth $49 / 600 | 8.2¢ | $4.90 | Not stated |
| Klap | Basic $29 / 100 clips | n/a | Pro+ $189 / 1,000 clips | n/a | $1.89 (ten clips) | Not stated |
| Submagic | Starter $19 / 15 videos; Magic Clips add-on +$19 / 10 uploads | n/a | Billed per output video | n/a | Not stated | |
How we compared: monthly-billing prices from each vendor's pricing page, re-checked 9 October 2026. Munch is left out: its minutes now come inside social-media-manager plans ($58 for 500 a month on monthly billing), and its advertised $38 and $60 are yearly rates. ClipPod is in the table because we make it, and its row is measured the same way as the rest. Vizard's list price is $29 and the $14.50 it advertises is the annual rate; it sells larger credit tiers whose prices are not published in crawlable form, so only Creator is shown. Quso's annual plans double the credits at a lower price.
How AI clip tool credits work: 1 credit = 1 minute on most tools
One credit is one minute of the video you upload, on almost every tool. Pricing pages lead with the monthly price; the meter is in the small print, and it is nearly always this one.
- OpusClip's help centre says processing clips costs one credit per minute of the original video imported.
- Quso says one credit is roughly one minute of processed video.
- Vizard's pricing page says one credit equals one minute of video.
- ClipPod does not meter minutes: each plan is one monthly bar, importing an episode, Find more and each video you make use their own share of it, and you see what each step uses before you confirm.
So a 60-minute episode costs 60 credits or minutes on every per-minute tool. ClipPod is the exception: importing that hour in English is 4.1% of a Starter month, and each one-minute video made and finished is 0.8% of a Starter month. A weekly show that records an hour needs 240 a month. A show that records ninety minutes needs 360. Write your own number down before you look at any plan, because most entry plans do not reach it, and the cost calculator further down this page will do the arithmetic for you.
Two tools meter something else. Klap sells a number of clips per month, and Submagic sells credits that map to output videos, 45 credits for 15 videos on Starter, with a two-minute cap per upload; clipping a long episode takes its Magic Clips add-on. Those can be cheaper if you post three clips a week and never want a fourth, and more expensive when a good episode gives you twelve. They are left out of the per-episode columns because the cost of one episode depends on how many clips you take from it, and both are reviewed in our round-up of podcast clip makers.
Editor-first tools sit outside this comparison entirely. Descript and Riverside sell an editing or recording subscription rather than credits per source minute. Async (formerly Podcastle) is a general video maker with a clips feature, and Podsqueeze works from the transcript, turning it into show notes, titles, audiograms and chapter-export clips. None of them has a per-episode meter to line up against the tools above.
How many credits does OpusClip use per video?
OpusClip uses one credit per minute of the video you import, charged when processing starts. Three worked examples:
- A 45-minute interview episode uses 45 credits. On the Starter plan's 150, that leaves 105, enough for two more of the same length.
- A 60-minute weekly episode uses 60 credits. Four a month need 240, which is more than Starter's 150 and fits inside Pro's 300 with 60 to spare.
- A two-hour live show uses 120 credits. One of them takes 80 percent of a Starter month.
The number of clips you export does not change the bill. Sixty minutes is sixty credits whether you keep three clips or thirty.
OpusClip pricing plans and credits
| OpusClip plan | Monthly price | Credits per month | 60-min episodes | Per 60-min episode | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Not stated | — | — | Watermark, 1080p, 3-day storage |
| Starter | $15 | 150 | 2.5 | $6.00 | Credits expire after 60 days |
| Pro | $29 | 300 | 5 | $5.80 | Credits expire after 60 days |
| Max / Business | Custom | 1,500 per pack | 25 | — | No public price |
Prices from opus.pro/pricing and credit counts from OpusClip's help centre article "How are credits consumed", both re-checked 9 October 2026. The pricing page itself lists features without the credit counts.
Do OpusClip credits expire?
Yes, OpusClip's monthly-plan credits expire after 60 days. Its help centre says they roll over for one extra month and then disappear. Annual credits arrive all at once and expire after twelve months.
On cancellation, remaining credits keep their original expiry date. If you skip a month of recording, the credits you paid for that month are gone by the month after next.
What $29 a month buys on each AI clipping tool
At $29 a month, Vizard gives 600 minutes of credits and OpusClip gives 300 credits. ClipPod Creator at the same price is one monthly bar worth ≈ 300 clips — the same price for very different meters. Five tools have a plan at exactly $29, and it is the tier a weekly show ends up on. On OpusClip vs Vizard pricing at $29, the same money clips twice as much.
| Tool | Plan at $29 | Minutes per month | 60-min episodes | Per episode, full allowance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vizard | Creator | 600 | 10 | $2.90 |
| ClipPod | $29 Creator — one monthly bar, ≈ 300 clips; about 29 one-hour episodes with ten videos made | n/a — priced by share | 29 | $0.97 (ten videos made) |
| Klap | Basic, 100 clips | n/a — billed per clip | 10 | $2.90 (ten clips) |
| OpusClip | Pro | 300 | 5 | $5.80 |
| Quso.ai | Lite | 100 | 1.7 | $17.40 |
Podcast clip cost calculator
Enter your usual episode length and how many you publish a month. The table shows the cheapest plan that fits on each tool and what that makes each episode cost.
| Tool | Plan that fits | Monthly | Per episode | Per video |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ClipPod | Starter (≈ 90 clips) | $9.00 | $1.03 | $0.10 |
| OpusClip | Pro (300 min) | $29.00 | $7.25 | n/a — billed by the minute |
| Vizard | Creator (600 min) | $29.00 | $7.25 | n/a — billed by the minute |
| Quso.ai | Essential (300 min) | $39.00 | $9.75 | n/a — billed by the minute |
ClipPod has no minutes allowance: each plan is one monthly bar, and importing an episode, Find more and each video you make use their own share of it, by length — you see what each step uses before you confirm. Its "plan that fits" is the smallest plan whose bar covers the month (each episode imported once, one-minute videos made and finished), and its "per episode" is the plan's price times the episode's share of the bar. Every other tool bills the minutes, so its per-video cell reads "n/a — billed by the minute" rather than a division that would read as a comparison. See the pricing page. OpusClip Starter $15 / 150, Pro $29 / 300 (Business has no public price). Vizard Creator $29 / 600 (larger tiers unpublished). Quso Lite $29 / 100, Essential $39 / 300, Growth $49 / 600. When no checked plan covers the month, the row says so instead of guessing.
Four pricing rules that change your bill
1. Credits are spent at upload, not at download
Uploading a 60-minute episode costs 60 minutes on every tool in the table before you have seen a single clip. If the tool finds nothing usable, the credits are still gone on most of them. ClipPod charges the import too, by its length, as a share of your bar — an hour in English is 4.1% of a Starter month — and you see that share before you confirm. Anything that fails on our side gives back what it used unless the plan refills or ends while it is being made, as its pricing page and its terms of service say. Check whether the tool you are comparing says anything at all.
2. Expiry is the quiet cost
A monthly plan looks cheap if you use every minute every month. Podcasters do not record evenly. A two-week break with credits that expire after 60 days means paying for minutes you never spent. ClipPod's plan refills to 100% at each renewal rather than expiring on a timer, the unused share is not carried forward, and a pack never expires at all. OpusClip and Vizard keep each month's credits for two months; most other pricing pages say nothing on it. As the AI models and compute we use get cheaper, we expect your plan to go further. When a step costs us less, it uses less of your bar.
3. What the second clip costs
Some tools include every clip the first analysis finds in the upload charge, so a rich episode is free money. ClipPod is not one of them: the import uses its share, and each video you make uses its own, so a rich episode costs the videos you make from it. Per-clip tools charge for each one. The difference shows up on the episode that turns out great.
On ClipPod the first analysis delivers every clip worth posting as a moment you can play before you make anything — nothing is made until you ask. For that episode the first clips were back about 12 minutes after the link was pasted. Making one into a video uses its own share — a one-minute video made and finished is 0.8% of a Starter month — and trimming it before you make it is free.
4. What the free tier puts on your clip
Free plans exist to be seen. Vizard's free exports are 720p with a watermark and a ten-minute export cap. OpusClip's free tier is watermarked. ClipPod's free clips end with a short ClipPod card after the clip rather than a mark over the picture, and paid plans can switch the card off in Settings. If you plan to post free-tier clips, watch one all the way through before you decide.
Is OpusClip worth it for a podcast?
OpusClip is worth it for a solo host who clips from several sources and wants the widest input list. It is a harder case for a weekly podcast watching the bill.
Per episode it is the most expensive of the minute-metered tools at $5.80 on Pro, and its monthly credits expire after 60 days. It does split the frame automatically when both speakers share the shot.
If price and expiry are what you weigh, the same $29 buys ≈ 300 clips a month on ClipPod Creator. On Vizard it buys 600 minutes of credits.
Price is only half the question. The rest is which tool picks the moments you would have picked, which we work through in the guide to the best podcast clip makers.
Which plan for a weekly one-hour podcast?
- If you publish four hour-long episodes a month, that is 240 minutes on the tools that meter by minute alone, and the $15 OpusClip Starter plan stops at 150 minutes. ClipPod Starter holds about 8 one-hour episodes a month with ten videos made each, so four fit with room to spare.
- If you publish two or fewer, an entry plan is enough. ClipPod Starter at $9 holds about 8 such episodes a month, ten videos made each. OpusClip Starter at $15 covers two and a half. Quso's Lite plan at $29 covers under two.
- If you record more than 1,000 minutes a month, read the per-episode column. ClipPod Creator at $29 is $0.97 an episode (ten videos made) and holds about 29 one-hour episodes a month. On monthly billing, no minute-metered plan here with a public price reaches 1,000 minutes: Vizard sells larger tiers on top of Creator but does not publish those prices in a form we could check.
- If your recording schedule is uneven, ClipPod's plan refills each renewal rather than carrying a spare month forward. A pack bought for a busy month never expires and is used only when the plan can't cover a whole action.
These tables measure the meter, not the clips. The next question is whether both hosts end up in the frame, which is covered in how to make a split-screen podcast clip.
AI clip tool pricing FAQ
- How many credits does OpusClip use per video?
- One credit per minute of the video you import, charged at processing. A 60-minute episode uses 60 credits, and the number of clips you export does not change that. Starter includes 150 credits a month and Pro includes 300, per OpusClip's help centre article on how credits are consumed.
- Do OpusClip credits expire?
- Yes. On monthly plans they expire after 60 days, so they roll over one extra month and then disappear. On annual plans the full year's credits arrive at once and expire after twelve months. If you cancel, remaining credits keep the expiry date they already had rather than ending at once.
- Do unused OpusClip credits roll over?
- For one month only. Monthly credits stay valid for 60 days, which is the current month plus the next, then they are gone. ClipPod's rule is different: its plan refills to 100% at each renewal and the unused share is not carried forward. Vizard's monthly minutes work the same way, two months per grant. Quso states no rollover rule.
- How much does OpusClip cost per month?
- Starter is $15 a month for 150 credits and Pro is $29 for 300, on monthly billing as of 9 October 2026. That works out at $6.00 and $5.80 per 60-minute episode. Business pricing is custom. Annual billing is cheaper per month; check the toggle on the pricing page.
- What does Vizard cost per month?
- Vizard's Creator plan lists at $29 a month for 600 credits, which is 600 minutes of source video, or ten 60-minute episodes at $2.90 each. Paid annually it is $14.50 a month, billed as $174 a year. The free tier gives 60 credits a month at 720p with a watermark.
- What happens if I run out of credits before the month ends?
- We have not verified overage or top-up behaviour for the tools in this comparison, so treat it as unchecked and confirm with the vendor. The one fact we do have: OpusClip sells Max credit packs of 1,500 credits, with no public price. The safe move is to size the plan for your busiest month.
- Do I get charged again to download a clip?
- Not on ClipPod, where downloading uses nothing. On other tools, check whether the export step consumes credits or is capped by plan. Submagic and Klap meter output rather than input, so exports are the thing being counted, and Vizard's free tier caps exports at ten minutes.
- What is the cheapest AI clipping tool per episode?
- Of the tools compared here, on monthly billing, ClipPod Creator at $0.97 (ten videos made) is the cheapest per episode. Vizard's plan at the same price is $2.90 and Quso Growth is $4.90. At the $29 price point, Vizard gives 600 minutes and OpusClip gives 300 credits. ClipPod Creator gives one monthly bar worth ≈ 300 clips. Klap bills per clip, so ten clips from an episode are $2.90 on monthly Basic and $1.89 on Pro+. Submagic cannot be ranked this way, because its cost depends on video count and its long-episode add-on.
- Is annual billing worth it on an AI clip tool?
- Only if the credits you do not use survive. Annual plans cost 30 to 50 percent less per month, but on tools where credits expire monthly you are pre-paying for months you may skip. Look up the rollover rule first. Quso is the outlier worth checking: its annual plans cost about a third less and double the credits.
- Can I try a full episode for free?
- ClipPod's free plan holds one 1-hour episode with 10 videos made, refills every month, and needs no card. OpusClip and Vizard have free tiers with a watermark, and Vizard's is 60 credits a month. Quso's free tier is 75 credits a month at 720p. Klap lets you make one free video, and Submagic offers a trial only.
One hour-long episode from $0.97, ten videos made
- One monthly bar from $9 a month, and you see what each step uses before you confirm; $0.97 an episode (ten videos made) on Creator
- Every clip found plays before you make it, and opening one shows why it was picked; nothing is made unasked; downloads free
- The plan refills each renewal; anything that fails on our side gives back what it used unless the plan refills or ends meanwhile
Start on the free plan, ≈ 10 clips a month, no card needed. A pack is $9 one-time, ≈ 60 more clips.
- OpusClip pricing: opus.pro/pricing (Starter $15, Pro $29, Business custom). Credit rule, per-plan credits and expiry: help.opus.pro, "How are credits consumed".
- Vizard pricing: vizard.ai/pricing (credit rule; list $29 and annual $14.50, read with the monthly toggle). Rollover: help.vizard.ai, "valid for 2 months in the monthly plan".
- Munch pricing: munchstudio.com/pricing (Essential $58 and Premium $85 monthly, $38 and $60 billed yearly; left out of the tables).
- Quso.ai pricing: quso.ai/pricing (Lite, Essential, Growth; annual plans double credits).
- Klap pricing: klap.app/pricing (monthly tab). Submagic pricing: submagic.co/pricing; limits and the Magic Clips add-on: care.submagic.co.
- ClipPod pricing and terms: clippod.app/pricing, clippod.app/terms.